Tart, Caramel Rhubarb Popcorn

*Pictures coming soon

I used to work at a local health food store and I would learn all sorts of things by talking with the customers who would come through. Each day I would leave work with four or five sticky notes in my green apron pocket with notes of insight from the day. One that really stuck with me was the following recipe for popcorn. It is both healthy and delicious, and it is sure to please even the pickiest of eaters (hopefully, just don’t tell them what is in it before they try it).

One of my good friends who used to work with me, whom I still stay in touch with, grew a plethora of rhubarb in her parents’ garden over the summer that she harvested for me. I didn’t have the time to make anything with it then, so I froze it to use it at a later date. And there is no time like the present! So I decided to make this popcorn as November is ending to ease my pain of the coming cold weather.

Tart, Caramel Rhubarb Popcorn

Ingredients:

3 Tbl. Coconut Oil
1 cup Popcorn Kernels
1 Stock Rhubarb, about 1 foot long
Caramel or English Toffee Stevia Drops

Instructions:

Rhubarb Fruit Powder:

Begin by drying your rhubarb. You can do so in a food dehydrator, or in the oven. Food dehydrators should have instructions for drying your fruit. Oven instructions are as follows: Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Make sure to wash the rhubarb and then thinly slice it and line it on a baking sheet. I find that to get the most thin slices to use a potato peeler. Bake at 200° F for about 3 hours. Keep an eye on this as the baking time depends on how thinly you slice the rhubarb.

Once your rhubarb is dehydrated, freeze it overnight. Once frozen through, blend throughly into a fine powder. Don’t worry if there are a few lumps. Set aside.

Popcorn:

In a large skillet, melt 3 Tbl. coconut oil on medium heat. Add 1 cup popcorn kernels to the skillet and cover with lid. Shake skillet with lid to move kernels around periodically to prevent burning. Once the popping subsides, remove from heat.

Bringing it all together:

Put the popcorn in a large bowl for mixing. Sprinkle the rhubarb powder over the popcorn to taste. Add caramel stevia drops to popcorn to taste as well. I prefer about 10 drops of caramel to balance the tartness. Mix the popcorn throughly so that all is evenly distributed.

Feel free to package as your neighbor gifts for Christmas in festive bags, or enjoy all to yourself watching your favorite reruns on TV.

Leave a Reply

